Distington () is a large village and civil parish in Cumbria, England, 3 miles south of Workington and 4 miles (6.4 km) north of Whitehaven. Historically a part of Cumberland, the civil parish includes the nearby settlements of Common End, Gilgarran and Pica.
Distington railway station was opened jointly by the Cleator and Workington Junction Railway and the LNWR and Furness Joint Railway (The Joint Line) on 1 October 1879. It was situated on the northern edge of the village of Distington, Cumbria, England where the C&WJR's north-south main line crossed the Joint Line's east-west Gilgarran Branch.
Lowca Beck is a beck in the county of Cumbria, England.The beck rises in the vicinity of Gilgarran and flows by Distington and the remains of Hayes Castle before flowing between Lowca and Howgate, emptying into the Solway Firth at Parton Bay.
Dissington Hall is a privately owned country mansion situated on the banks of the River Pont at North Dissington, Ponteland, Northumberland. It is a Grade II* listed building.
Dishington is a surname of Scottish origin. The name first arises in Northumberland where they were seated as lords of the manor in the shire of Dissington, Northumberland.
The Distington's Rugby team activities page. Related with social media posts of Distington's games and scheduled events. Match records planned for future dates as well as home and away matches. Plan a trip and experience the excitement of the match on the spot!